Remember Memorial Day with the Iraq Names Project

Memorial Day weekend Nancy will rewalk the Iraq Names Project Route.

Starting Saturday May 24th, 10am at the Edith Green Wendell Wyatt Federal Building (SW 3rd & SW Jefferson). Saturday we will walk the route Nancy chalked last year to Irving Park.

Sunday May 25th at 10am we will walk from Irving Park (NE 7th & NE Freemont) to Wilshire Park.

Memorial Day May 26th at 10am we will walk from Wilshire Park (NE 33rd & NE Skidmore) to Holladay Park (NE Multnomah & NE 11th). When we get to Holladay Park Nancy will start chalking again.

On Saturday and Sunday we will have a little potluck picnic when we finish walking.

Please join us any time. You can contact dan.namesproject at gmail for more information.

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Remember Memorial Day with the Iraq Names Project”

  1. Abby Says:

    I rode my bike past you chalking the names of soldiers each morning a few weeks ago as I was on my way to work. I should have stopped to hug you, to thank you for what you are doing. My father will be deployed to Iraq this next January. He’s already been to Afghanistan. I know because of you that if he were not to come home, he’d still be remembered.

    Thank you, Nancy.

  2. Gary Tolle Says:

    I wanted to say “Thank You” ! I found your site by mistake when looking for things about my nephew. His name was PFC Aaron J. Ward and he was your project on 5/11/08. Seeing the photo of you looking at his name and sadness you felt brought a tear and a smile to my face at the same time. The tear is for the loss of my dear nephew who at just 19 became the 4,072 soldier killed in Iraq. The smile was because you took the time out of your life to not just write his name down but the 4,071 before him as well. Thank you so much for showing your heart so openly. In this day and age so many folks just go on with their day drinking their starbucks, talking on their cell phones and complaining about traffic and there are so many young soldiers there now sleeping in the dirt trying to give the people of Iraq the same freedom’s we take for granted. You are a very sweet and kind person with a very warm heart. So from my heart to yours, thank you, god bless you and we the families of the fallen love you… Gary

  3. Jeannie Tolle Says:

    I found your site today while looking for things about my grandson Pfc Aaron J. Ward. You are a marvelous thoughtful and caring person to take the time to do this. I am Gary Tolle’s mother. I was surprised to see Gary had found your site as well. Thank you for your kind heart. I wish there were more people like you. Jeannie

  4. Marge McMillan Says:

    Thank you for thinking of my son William McMillan III who died on July 8th 2008 from an IED. He was a combat medic and helped many Iraqi children in their community health clinics along with caring for our wounded soldiers. God bless our fallen soldiers. Marge

  5. Cathy McCrea Says:

    To Marge, Lloyd, and Brad, our hearts go out to you. I’m sure you remember that our sons went to school together in St. Joe’s in Ogden, UT. If you receive this please call me at 801-392-6142 or email me at cathymc@crengland.com or cathy.mccrea@comcast.net. We love you.

    Cathy, Sam, JC, Cassie, and Mikey

Leave a Reply

